Home Technical Talk

Question about SubD modeling and Game Assets

Hello. I am still a beginner when it comes to 3D in general. I've spent the last month or so practicing SubD modeling techniques with emphasis on maintaining clean topology. However, i realize this approach is often used for 3D models in animation or the film/tv industry, and not as in game assets. I checked other artists who do low-poly modeling for games, and it has a variety of triangles on their models. 

My question is: Is it useful to continue practicing SubD and clean quad topology? How do some artists convert a high poly SubD model to a low poly with triangles for game assets? I would appreciate to hear your insights. And thank you. 

Replies

• iam717
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    iam717 greentooth
    Just posting in-case you missed it:
    I myself use many different ways but mostly zbrush remesher as a base then edit it in topogun
    (when testing animations and prestarting textures, "to get ahead" on them, saving them as a substance smart mat.)

• sacboi
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    sacboi high dynamic range
    "...I've spent the last month or so practicing SubD modeling techniques with emphasis on maintaining clean topology. However, i realize this approach is often used for 3D models in animation or the film/tv industry, and not as in game assets."

Well, if baking from high to low workflow you might utilise a subd mesh when generating game rez content!

For someone so new, really have to start engaging the brain - period!

Now unless via reputable sources like here at PC for instance, then definitely get into the habit by ignoring the rest - please!
  • Udjani
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Udjani interpolator