Home Unreal Engine

Apple Silicone / Metal Support

polycounter lvl 8
Offline / Send Message
haffy polycounter lvl 8
Hi, 
I am in a situation where I will start stying Game Development, I will test different areas (Environment, Concept Art, Tech and more). I have been offered to keep my current computer (M1 Max 64GB Ram Macbook Pro) at a low monthly rate. Does Unreal have full support for Apple Metal yet? Especially Nanite and Ray Tracing.

As of this article it does not look promesing for my M1 computer: https://www.unrealengine.com/en-US/tech-blog/unreal-engine-5-2-brings-native-support-for-apple-silicon-and-other-developments-for-macos

Thanks in advance for the help.

Replies

• poopipe
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    poopipe grand marshal polycounter
    I've no direct experience with unreal on mac but I would advise being extremely cautious about any claims epic make regarding compatibility(That goes double for new features because they barely function on PC yet)

It depends what you're planning to do - if this is for educational / learning purposes then you might as well try it on the mac, it won't cost you anything to find out. 

If you're planning to do something commercial before you next plan to update your hardware I'd chop the mac in for a (big) PC.
    Ue5 is not production ready on windows at the moment - it's not going to be any better on macos 

(Ive shipped one title and am about to ship a second on ue5 so this isn't just an opinion formed from fannying around at home and getting cross when things don't work (I have a thread for that))

• haffy
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    haffy polycounter lvl 8
    Thanks for you insight @poopipe, I plan to learn and do freelance work at the side. So I will go for a PC build.
    Regarding what section I will put my focus is the thing I want to find out now during the study years, time to put down some real focus. I have been doing allot of visualisations the last couple of years..