Home Technical Talk

Internet Rot and brain drain: The loss of technical knowledge as sites and forums decay

polycounter lvl 18
Offline / Send Message
Gungriffon Geona polycounter lvl 18
Hi there.
I made my account back when I was very young and frankly I hate this stupid username. But I don't feel like making a new account to post what I feel is an important message. I hope you will read what I have to say.

I work as a pixel artist and 3D artist, and pixel art has had such a gigantic brain-drain that people are still trying to reverse engineer effects created by the masters of the arcade era. For me to learn in the 2000s like I did, I spent majority of my time tearing apart ripped spritesheets and taking screenshots to learn. And it guaranteed was a much slower method than it should have been. 
       There has been significant work in recent years to solve this issue, but even now we have situations of artists simply not sharing their findings, leaving the amateurs to amateur. Still, it's atleast getting better, slowly but surely.

Which leads me to coming back here, and the reason I write this:
       A friend of mine is trying desperately to learn 3D in his college courses, and I am often flabbergasted by the lunacy his "totally worked at pixar" professor spews, and how little he's actually been taught about doing 3D in a professional setting, or outright told the wrong thing to do.
So, I did what I usually like to do: link back over to this site. the place I learned from all those years ago.

Only... There's a problem:
       In my hunt to find old tutorials and information on normalmaps, hard surface, subdivion, etc, I've noticed that a huge slew of images are gone. Whenever a thread directs to the polycount wiki, multiple examples and tutorials are simply gone: lost to the sands of shitty site hosting, photobucket, and other such rot that has made it harder to find things that are actually useful.