Home Technical Talk

3ds Max CAT: Adding 'Skin' modifier after rigging causes bones in hand to go haywire

MancD
polycounter lvl 3
Offline / Send Message
MancD polycounter lvl 3

I've had this on two models now. I'm rather new to riggging and skinning but I can't figure out what I'm doing wrong here.

Model was xformed before rigging and adding skin modifier. The model and geo is all zeroed out.

What is causing this issue? I'm working in Meters, could that be it? Is the hand geo insufficent? I'm at a complete loss.

I've not used any voxel or heatmapping.

Appreciate any help

Cheers

Replies

• Eric Chadwick
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Do any of the hand or arm bones have non 100% scale on them? Looks to me like the hand bones are inheriting scale from a parent somewhere in the hierarchy above them.

Also, which version of 3ds Max is this?
  • MancD
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    MancD polycounter lvl 3
    Hey thanks for the reply.

The hands are separate elements/objects. I've detached them checked the scale, it's at 100. reset x form anyway,reattached them to the main model then reset xform to the entirety of the model to no avail. 

Could the hand topology geometry or pose be causing this (it's not the best). I can rig a straightened hand in a separate file no problem.

It's max 2024.

Here is the partial file

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1_yrSQzR5VptwOKPoajRqcWOzDAvANCLf/view?usp=drivesdk

• Eric Chadwick
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    No I meant the bones. Are they scaled in any way?
  • Eric Chadwick
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Sorry I haven't used CAT so I can't really help with your issue. Some of the arm bones do have non 100% scale, and it's not a huge amount per bone, but maybe this could be compounded as it travels down the hierarchy?
  • MancD
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    MancD polycounter lvl 3