Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Ghoulie Retopology

node
Offline / Send Message
Diethyl node
I've been learning Z-brush/digital sculpting for the past 8 months and have finally gotten to the point where I can produce some decent stuff and I'm ready to move on to the next step in the process. I'm trying to retopologize so that I can make a production ready mesh for animation and make a subdivided mesh with good topology that I can use for sculpting in higher level of detail/texture to bake onto the production model.
I've been banging my head on the wall trying to learn how to retopologize. I really don't know where to start, I've made 5 different attempts already. None of the tutorials I've followed on youtube are very good, they aren't methodical, difficult to follow with instructors frequently making mistakes and going to back to fix them, and are just very vague( you have no idea how many times I've heard "it's a puzzle, just connect it up!") I just need some general guidance on technique, methods, and suggestions on where to put loops and general critiques are welcome too.
(He's based off of this little guy from the movie "Ghoulies" but, the "Ghoulies 3: Ghoulies Go To Collage" version)
(The O.G. Skibidi Toilet)
(Dollar-Tree Gremlin)
(Artistic liberties taken with ears, trying to improve in the ears department)
(Garbage topology)
(Not good)

Replies

• nomzod
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    nomzod polycounter lvl 7
    Take a look at the maya sculpt tools. In particular the relax and smooth tool. On the whole your topology not all that bad. What's important is that your edge loops make sense. But they can't be made sense of by anything other than a human looking at them, and there is no prescription case
  • kanga
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    kanga quad damage
    The eyes look flat. Put  a finger in the middle corner of you eye and one in the outer corner and with your hand level with your face see how much angle there is.