Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Critique: 3D Prop Demo Reel

Offline / Send Message
Pinned
Hi, I'm Jenn. I'm applying for 3d modeling positions in the gaming industry. I apply for entry level or generalist postings as I have no professional experience in the field. I'm looking for some input as to what I should do to improve my reel to break into the industry. Any advice is welcome! Here is the link for my 2023 demo reel. Thank you for your time!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=t_-T4oTIa6A&t=2s

Replies

• ThisisVictoriaZ
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    ThisisVictoriaZ polycounter
    Hi Jenn! Do you have a portfolio website? If not id highly recommend making one, there are lots of free options like making an art station account (there is a paid option but you don't necessarily have to have that when you're just getting started.) Having some high quality screenshots to go along with your videos of your scenes/props would be great, so that we can zoom in and really see all the cool stuff you've been making! 
  • Jenn3D
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Thanks for the advice! I do have an ArtStation which I link in my resume. But it would be better to include some of those screenshots of workflow and detail within the reel. Love it. Thanks again!
  • Jenn3D
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Hi Jenn! Do you have a portfolio website? If not id highly recommend making one, there are lots of free options like making an art station account (there is a paid option but you don't necessarily have to have that when you're just getting started.) Having some high quality screenshots to go along with your videos of your scenes/props would be great, so that we can zoom in and really see all the cool stuff you've been making! 
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZF7TK8B5MiY I added hi-res screenshots to my reel. If you see this, let me know what you think. You were so right haha! I think they add a lot to the reel. Thanks again for your input!