Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Portfolio review & feedback.

julius_eins
polycounter lvl 2
Offline / Send Message
Pinned
julius_eins polycounter lvl 2
Hi guys, I want to develop myself as an artist so I need some  valuable critics from anyone about my portfolio. Please mention the mistakes that you find in my work and also kindly direct me towards how to improve and fix those mistakes.
I mostly stick with hardsuface, which I am interested and plan to work professionaly on.

Portfolio URL: https://juliuseins.artstation.com/

Replies

• Rima
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Rima greentooth
    I'm by no means an expert, but I feel like they don't pop?

I think it's the lighting. They're not flat, but I feel like it doesn't really make them stand out; I think perhaps more contrast could be good. Darker shadows, and lights positioned so the shiny parts really catch the light and highlight the details, like the scrapes and scratches on the knife, for example. It's a bit difficult to describe, but I feel like the way it is gives a "meh" impression to me from that. The game scene in particular almost feels like the materials are shadeless. I also think it's probably best to keep a portfolio for finished works, rather than a work in progress; I imagine you want to put your best, most finished foot forward.

That said, I'm not talking from some lofty perspective here, so pinch of salt.
  • julius_eins
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    julius_eins polycounter lvl 2
    RimaModela thanks man...for the insights. I'll fix those.
  • zetheros
    Options
    Online / Send Message
    zetheros interpolator
    This will sound harsh, but your models, which could use more work, are being covered with sloppy materials. UVs are bad in some places as well as smoothing groups. I've seen dozens of portfolios like this and I'm not even a recruiter. You'll have to work a lot harder to stand out and find work. Best of luck though, and keep at it!
  • OssennaAsterisk