Home Technical Talk

Mini Tutorial: Baking seamless normal maps for glTF

I made this for a client recently, and it's generic enough that I can share here. So, why not?

Here are the source meshes, shaded and in wireframe:

When I open hexcube-lowpoly.glb in Babylon.js Sandbox (https://sandbox.babylonjs.com/), the normal map does not represent the beveled high-poly shape from hexcube-highpoly.glb, it has a lot of errors and seams. 

(I've attached both models, in glTF format, see the zip below)

This rendering result is because of a few issues:

1. The vertices need to be welded, or shared between all the triangles. When I import this GLB into 3ds Max (I'm not a Blender expert, so I use 3ds Max instead) each quad is a separate primitive, and all the vertices are unwelded. This is bad for normal mapping, because the rounded bevels won't shade correctly in the normal map. The model imports with 120 vertices, but it should only have 32 vertices.

2. When baking a normal map, if the model has hard edges (split vertex normals), then you must split the UVs for each hard edge. In this specific model, all the edges are hard, so that means each quad needs to be its own UV "shell" with spacing between them all. This will allows the baking tool to add padding between the shells, which then allows proper texture filtering for the drastically different colors on each side of each hard edge. Here is the fixed UV layout, next to the original UVs:

3. When you bake the normal map, you need to use averaged-ray projection. I don't know Blender all that well, so I don't know which settings to use there. Here's a visual example from 3ds Max of the projection type to use:

Here's more information about this issue (plus a lot more useful info!): https://polycount.com/discussion/107196/making-sense-of-hard-edges-uvs-normal-maps-and-vertex-counts/p1