Home Technical Talk

Vector-based modelling in Blender?

Hi everyone, 

I am an Architecture graduate who has recently decided to pursue a career in games art & design. I am in the early stages of learning the softwares and pipeline of things. I am focusing on Blender for modelling and sculpting, Substance Painter for textures and using Unreal Engine to put all the ingredients together. I currently think I will be a props, weapons or environmental artist...

But one thing which is driving me INSANE is how modelling (as far as I understand) is based on adding primitive shapes and forming, scaling, sculpting, morphing etc into the desired shape...

I come from a long experience of Revit, Vectorworks and Sketchup whereby you user draws lines and gives them exact numerical dimensions, angles etc to create the shapes which can be extruded and scaled and so on. Also used to being able to move, push/pull and extrude by a given dimension or to snap to a face. 

I hope my brief description of Architectural CAD modelling makes sense here.... but is there any way to do this kind of modelling in Blender or to move things around as such in UE5?

Am I missing something here? Every modelling tutorial (in blender) I watch is basically modelling things by approximating and gauging things by eye. While this is fine for the general application we use the models for, I'd personally prefer to be able to model and edit things in Blender using the typical navigation and tools from SketchUp.

Am I crazy or does anyone else feel this way also who has transitioned for Architecture into Digital 3D design?

Replies

• Ruz
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Ruz polycount lvl 666
    Blender is in the same vein as other modelling programs like 3ds max or maya. You can get some pretty nice Hard surface techniques on the go
    this guy has a lot of free tutorials
    https://www.youtube.com/@JoshGambrell/videos