Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Seeking feedback for my WIP stylized UE5 environment.

triangle
Howdy!

I've been working on this UE5 scene on and off while learning Substance Designer, and finally got it to a state that I feel comfortable to ask feedback. I am relatively new to environment art and this time I decided to use exsisting concept instead of making my own.

So, the scene is loosely based on the concept by Aurelien Segeat. It's not supposed to be a 1 to 1 recreation, but I would appreciate any feedback on how to make it pop or just in general how to improve it. It's still missing VFX, animations and any other final touches (like the vertex painted walls), as I am still unsure about the current composition or which light direction works better.

Here are the screenshots:

Cheers!

Replies

• Ashervisalis
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Ashervisalis grand marshal polycounter
    Yo yo, lookin good! Here are some tips;

Try not to have trees align with the slope of the ground. It makes the camera look tilted, and not like there is a slope.
    The lighting could use more creativity. Right now the bottom 1/3 is in shadow, and the top 2/3 is in the light. Would be nice if there was more chaotic lighting from the clouds.
    You got aliasing on the shadows on the house, up those light map resolutions!
    Your use of the edge detect damage on the green pillars of the house don't look good enough, they need some work.
    I'd love to see more wonk. All the structure is straight up and down or perfectly horizontal. It looks brand new.
    Textures on the house need a lot of work. Would help if you posted some references you're striving to match.
    If you want your trees lookin extra fuzzy, check out this tutorial on projecting normals; https://simonschreibt.de/gat/airborn-trees/
    I'd suggest possibly rotating the house structure so its slightly more pointed at the camera, to give it that 'high up' looming feel.