Home Technical Talk

Help, my Uvs does not unfold proprely

Good evening everyone, I desperately need help with a problem that I have had for a while and which I cannot resolve. Every time I unfold UVs it goes wrong, either they fold on themselves or they don't unfold correctly at all. Here are the solutions that I have already tried without success: Use "camera-based" or "planar", activate the Unfold3D plugin, restart maya, checked that the edges and vertices of my objects are well merged, checked that the normal are in the right direction and reset the settings preferences. All of this did not correct the problem. I don't understand where he comes from. I am a beginner and I use the 2022 version of Maya. Thanks for any help!

Replies

• Alex_J
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Alex_J grand marshal polycounter
    where is the failure? it looks like the face and head unwrapped as expected.

try adding a cut down the middle of the highlighted UV shell and see how it unwraps. that should show us if the unfolder is working correctly, and if it is, then the problem would just be that you need to change how you are cutting the shell.
  • Melaniein3D
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Alex_J said:
    where is the failure? it looks like the face and head unwrapped as expected.

try adding a cut down the middle of the highlighted UV shell and see how it unwraps. that should show us if the unfolder is working correctly, and if it is, then the problem would just be that you need to change how you are cutting the shell.
    I tried cutting in the middle of the head and it worked, even if the uv is not perfect at least it's not fold on itslef. I tried with the arm and the problem is still there. Maybye my mesh isn't modeled correctly. The faces are not evenly distributed I think...

• poopipe
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    poopipe grand marshal polycounter
    you'll often get this sort of thing on organic surfaces.