Home Adobe Substance

How do I combine texture maps on export in Painter?

vlaint
polycounter lvl 6
Offline / Send Message
vlaint polycounter lvl 6
So this is my first time making a game ready character and I'm already finishing up with the textures. However I think I messed it up. What I did was separate the mesh for different materials sharing 1 UV space. I thought it was a good idea since I don't have to bother with using masks, plus I also see some tutorials saying its good to separate materials for ease of texturing (or maybe I just didn't understand correctly lol). But then upon export I get 1 texture set for each and in some textures like normals the dilation even overlaps causing weird artifacts.

I'm thinking of just manually combining in Photoshop. If that won't work I guess I'll have to rebake groups and reimport the whole mesh as 1 texture set and just setup masks. Any way I can do this efficiently?

Replies

• vlaint
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    vlaint polycounter lvl 6
    Ok. I watched the substance painter texturing tutorial again and while they did separate each texture set depending on the material I failed to notice each of them had their own UV space. Guess I messed up.
  • poopipe
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    poopipe grand marshal polycounter

to get masks you can use in photoshop...

set up a user channel in each texture set
    put a black fill layer that only writes into the user channel and that covers everything
    add a white fill layer that only writes into the user channel and  and that only covers the geometry
    add the user channel to your export preset
    export.. 
     voila - layer masks

• vlaint
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    vlaint polycounter lvl 6
    poopipe said:

to get masks you can use in photoshop...

set up a user channel in each texture set
    put a black fill layer that only writes into the user channel and that covers everything