Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Portfolio for Technical Artist (New Grad)

Hi guys! Here is my portfolio for technical artist, any feedback is appreciated!
https://www.artstation.com/eurekathurston

I just graduated from college this past June with a BA game design major. It’s been quite anxious over the past few months as I kept looking for jobs in the game industry and received no offer. I feel like the technical artist position is more like a role for experienced people who have already worked in the industry for years, since most of the tech art job posts I found require 3~5 years of experience or even more. I’ve been spending most of my free time learning about all the things about real time game rendering things, such as modeling, texturing, rendering pipeline, shaders, VFXs, and game engines, and I’m continuing learning more on these topics now and in the future. Tech art is kind of my dream job I guess, but it’s been 5 months since I graduated, and I still need my parents to pay my rent and everything else, it just does not feel good. I’m not sure if I’m supposed to keep looking for tech art jobs, or just broaden my choices and try to look for other positions in the industry. But that yields another problem, all I learnt are specific for preparing for tech art, I don’t even have a portfolio for other positions. All of these drive me crazy every single day.

I’m not sure if I’m doing the job research correctly. Most of the time, I stick with LinkedIn/Glassdoor/Indeed, and a google sheet job board (https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1eR2oAXOuflr8CZeGoz3JTrsgNj3KuefbdXJOmNtjEVM/edit#gid=0)  , WorkWithIndie, and the “Jobs” part when you search for a job position on Google. I’m not sure if there are other resources for the game industry or new grads. Please tell me if there actually are some other places to find jobs in the industry.