Home Technical Talk

What are your thoughts on modeling?

yamato
node
Offline / Send Message
yamato node
I am not very good at polygon modeling.

I am not good at polygon modeling, especially for objects that do not have clearly separated surfaces, such as an organic body.

I am not sure what steps to take to create a model, and I get lost. I want to do modeling with the right mindset and the right procedures, even if I don't get it right the first time.

So I would like to know what I should pay attention to when modeling and how I should think about modeling. In other words, I would like you to teach me the principles.

Also, if you know of any videos of organic modeling with the correct flow, please let us know.

Please note that I am not talking about sculptural modeling, but polygonal modeling.

We are looking forward to your answer.

Replies

• dimwalker
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    dimwalker polycounter lvl 15
    Depends on a complexity I guess. You can model a human body without too much trouble, but creating a blobby monster with scales, horns, spikes and abstract mutated flesh formations is a whole different story. You are making it so much harder for yourself by dismissing sculpting. Imho, using sculpting for organics IS the right mindset.

If you don't want to learn zbrush/mudbox then at least use native sculpting features of your modeling software.

Without sculpting in any form I would break model into pieces that can be somewhat represented by primitives. Do quad low-poly base for those. Connect it into  a single piece. Then smooth/subdivide and tweak in several iterations, but I would advice against it.

• yamato
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    yamato node
    dimwalker said: