Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Advice on picking a specialization.

Hi, I'm not sure if I should post this here or in Career & Education, but if anyone would be so kind, I would really appreciate advice on choosing a career direction based on my portfolio.

I've been a hobbyist for a few years and I've enjoyed trying out different aspects of 3D, so as of now, I have a pretty generalist skill set. I've created props, environments, characters, rigged, animated, and programmed. I've also recently completed a small game project in UE.

Now, I think it would be a good time to pick a specialization (I've heard that specializing might be a faster way to find a job), but I have no clue which. I like pretty much all of them, so I mean this purely in terms of finding a job as soon as possible.

It would be really helpful if anyone could advise me on:
1. What job position would be the quickest to obtain from my current position?
2. What projects should I remove from my portfolio?
Or just generally what I could change.

My portfolio: https://www.artstation.com/szubert

Thanks in advance.

Replies

• Ashervisalis
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Ashervisalis grand marshal polycounter
    Hey bud! There are some cool ideas and such in your portfolio. Specializing it really the only way to your first job. Unless you're absolutely killing it in every department, you're going to want to focus on environments, or characters, or animation, or rigging, etc. Don't go for the fastest specialization to achieve, go for what you want to do, what you enjoy. There is still a bit of a journey for you before you nail down a professional portfolio, so whichever skill you choose to hone in on, you will be able to dedicate enough learning time to that.
  • Vertrucio
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Vertrucio greentooth