Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

What should i learn/practice ?

triangle
Offline / Send Message
Pinned
Mehdi_Fr triangle
Hi , like most people here my goal is to get into the industry (as a character artist ) i've been learning sculpting for +9 months now and i got to the point where im confuse and doubting myself , and the feeling of giving up is back to me again .. the problem is i don't know if im heading to the right way !!  people been telling me that this progress i did is great but i dont feel like it is !! i feel like im lost and doing nonsense

also i got overwhelmed about the amount of informations of character artists and i dont know what to do ..
what are the things i should practice ? what's ur advices ? how should i approach this ? and the last question does these 3 recent practice i did will help me improve and get to my goal or they are leading me to another path? 

Replies

• HarlequinWerewolf
    Options
    Online / Send Message
    HarlequinWerewolf polycounter
    Hey, I totally get being overwhelmed coming in to this industry. Your sculpts are really nice! Way nicer than my early ones were   :p 

Right now, I would recommend learning the rest of the pipeline, whether for games or film. It's very rare to get hired on sculpts alone, you'll usually be expected to be capable of doing the entire pipeline of character creation. (High poly -> low poly -> unwrapped -> textures -> in-engine renders) Yeah, your sculpts are nice, but can you do the rest? Can you retopologise a character with good topo for animation? Can you create nice textures that are realistic/stylised/painted? Can you create clothing? I would dig in to these topics next and find a concept you want to replicate
  • Mehdi_Fr
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Mehdi_Fr triangle
    Hey, I totally get being overwhelmed coming in to this industry. Your sculpts are really nice! Way nicer than my early ones were   :p