Home General Discussion

A contractor is telling me these renderings will take weeks. Should they?

https://drive.google.com/drive/folders/1F0EGB9Z367O5nxtOnR1PhrkZmJSuDcGd?usp=drive_link

Please see the link above.

I'm a video producer for a marketing company. There is a contractor 3D CAD guy who did renderings of these scenes years back for a client and the client asked for an update of a small part on the front-most machine (the only one with a moving part). He has only had to redesign that small part (of course that takes time) but is saying the render will take weeks. These videos are 600kb/s bit rate and 720p. It doesn't have liquids/caustics, physics, ambient occlusion as far as I can tell (and not an intense polygon count like an animal would) but I'm barely competent when it comes to 3D stuff. 

I get that the original design of the entire scene may take a week but the rendering just seems like something a computer can do live nowadays. He's more of a CAD/engineering guy and not a 3D animator proper so I'd like to have some perspective.

Should this take weeks to render? Is the contractor not going about this in the correct way?

Thank you!

Replies

• Krom
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Krom polycounter lvl 13
    Ask him what his workflow is, let him describe the process by steps. And ask him to estimate the time for each step. Rendering alone shouldn't take weeks. It's not pixar. BUT there are maybe some things that actually require a lot of time.
  • teodar23
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    teodar23 sublime tool
    The actual rendering can be done real time, but i cant speak about the change needed as i dont fully understand it. Maybe ask for a "second opinion" i.e. quota from a different person
  • pior
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    pior grand marshal polycounter