Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

(Critique) Male head sculpt, looking for advice

Hi all! I'm trying to learn anatomy to get better results with my face sculpts.
This took about two hours, and my main target was to get the correct proportions/boney landmarks.

Any feedback would be greatly appreciated! I've been doing 3D for about 2 years and stick to hard surface usually.

Replies

• zetheros
    Options
    Online / Send Message
    zetheros interpolator
    cool, I was also mostly a hardsurface artist until just recently. I think a good way to improve is to study the skull, so if this is Zbrush you'll have access to Ryan Kingslien's female ecorche subtool. You can use that as reference. I would also recommend adding pupils to the eye, this will help with judging proportions. Good luck!
  • DNvL
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Thanks for the reply! I'm using blender, but I've been looking at 3D skulls to study them more and trying to get the same shapes. Thanks for the help :) 
  • milestreet
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Great start! You've got the right idea working on understanding the boney landmarks and proportions first. Agree with the above comment on studying the skull. It can also be good to look at simplified models/drawings of the head to get a better understanding of how the forms break down, things like the planes of the head and the Loomis method are really useful for this. 

Anatomy For Sculptors has some excellent 3D examples, here's  one from their artstation that shows the process from simple to complex: https://www.artstation.com/artwork/Wm6zZv 

Enjoy the practice!  =)
  • Krom
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Krom polycounter lvl 13
    Two main problems are the eyes and the ears. The eyes should be way smaller.
    Eyeballs are 24mm in size. 
    Pupillary distance (PD) measures the distance between the centers of your pupils. The average adult's PD is between 54-74 mm 
  • DNvL
    Options