Home Technical Talk

Stretch photo across polygon

I have zero 3D modeling knowledge so please be patient.

i have made 2D polygon in photoshop, how can i import it in 3D modeling program to avoid recreating it from scratch?

Now i have photo i need to fit inside that polygon.

So it looks like this

And finally i need to export this re-shaped photo in highest possible quality.

Ideally i need to import-export 16Bit TIF images.

Please advice what 3D editing software i can use for this?

Replies

• Eric Chadwick
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Could you please describe why you need this transform? It looks like you have already achieved this. 

Perhaps maybe you need to distort the photo from the  original rectilinear shape, to the new curved shape? 

Any 3d program which supports morph targets or shape keys (same thing) will do this.
  • okidoki
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    okidoki polycounter lvl 2
    ..or.. just use a pure rectangular UV grid mesh and distort it as your liking (maybe using any subdiv modifier)..  the texture will distort accordingly..
    (no need to make a 2D polygon in PS in the first place..).. like so..
  • PhotoPractic
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Perhaps maybe you need to distort the photo from the  original rectilinear shape, to the new curved shape?
    Exactly what i need to distort photo from original to curved shape, but i want the shape to be 2D surface, not 3D (sphere or cylinder).

I remember wanting to do this for a long time and never had tools in Photoshop to achieve this, right now i just want to try if i can get something cool out of it.

Any 3d program which supports morph targets or shape keys (same thing) will do this.
    That's a long shot, could you provide me with 2-3 choices so i could get trial and see, i have very old PC with built in HD2000 video card so i don't want to install this resource hungry monsters like 3DS Max and Maya. Maybe something like MIlkshake 3d?