Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

WIP - Kazuhira Miller - Critique Required

Ahsan55
triangle
Offline / Send Message
Ahsan55 triangle
The purpose of this project is to create a game-ready character to showcase on my portfolio. This is my first 3d project but I have been learning 3d for a while now.
The reason I'm making this post is because I'm self taught and I occasionally find myself facing challenges I need help with and because I feel it will be very beneficial to receive input while I work on the character.

The character I am working on is Kazuhira Miller from Metal Gear Solid Peace Walker. This is what I have so far I will send in more detailed images and wireframes as I progress.
Clothes (other than belt) simulated in marvelous designer, the hair is just to visualize (it is not going to be used later on)

PureRef board (Incase you are not familiar with the character)
 Honest feedback no matter how harsh is appreciated.

Replies

• Ahsan55
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Ahsan55 triangle
    So Currently I'm in the process of making hair
    this is what I had so far but I feel the hair strands look weird (too flat i guess)
    I tried to change the color of some of the hair but it still doesn't look like his hair from the reference (where he has lighter and darker hairs)
     (comparing new hair strand coloring method to old single hair strand color) 
    so any tips on how to texture blonde hair (i don't have access to xgen cause i cant afford maya/3ds)

Edit: removed some images to make this post/ discussion easier to view
  • pxgeek
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    pxgeek keyframe
    Hair can be tricky.
    Something that may help is to establish a scalp and block in the hairline first. Currently your hairline isn't clearly defined and is a bit off.
  • Vertrucio
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Vertrucio greentooth