Home Career & Education

Portfolio Review: Go for a degree, a job or a better portfolio?

My portfolio: haiqin.artstation.com

I graduated high school and turned 18 a couple of months ago, but I'm still unsure of what I'm going to do to pursue a career as a 3D Character Artist, which is generally acknowledged as the most competitive position of all.

My portfolio has been completely swapped out and polished, my parents are starting to panic and urging me to go to a school (because that's what everyone does), and I have done a lot more research than I did at that time. However, instead of turning for the better, I'm even more confused now.

My choices generally narrow down to three, as the title suggests:

1. Going to an art school
This is the main cause of my headache. I started learning 3D 4 years ago and having started so much earlier than others in art school, I probably have to wait a long time for them to catch up. And it's hella expensive too. Besides, I have self-discipline good enough to keep me going without anyone's supervision. If there's one thing I wish to gain from an art school, it's the certificate that comes with the outrageous price. With a degree, I can apply for a work visa to work overseas as there are rarely any related jobs here in Malaysia.

2. Getting a job (remote)