Home Technical Talk

Creating warm lights and cool shadows for an indoor scene; help with making interior lighting

polycounter lvl 2
Offline / Send Message
coolguyslims polycounter lvl 2
Hello, I'm creating a scene and I want to get my lighting to look nice before I proceed with the rest, but I can't get it right. I want to have subtle warm lights and some cool shadows. I edited a screenshot of my scene in Photoshop to get the look I want, but I'm unsure how to implement it in real-time.

Photoshop edit of the desired effect. I think it just looks more interesting.

Current look.

Any help would be greatly appreciated 
:3 

Replies

• Brandon.LaFrance
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Brandon.LaFrance polycount sponsor
    This scene looks great! So one thing about lighting that took me a while to wrap my head around is that the color of shadows is determined by your ambient light. I'm a character artist, so my experience is limited to pretty simple lighting setups for presenting characters, so take what I'm saying with a grain of salt.

When lighting, I tend to separate my lights into groups depending on their purpose. For the majority of my use cases, a basic 3-point lighting setup suffices. This probably isn't exactly the approach you'd take when lighting an entire scene/level, but is still probably a useful way to think about lighting in general. Anyhow, a basic setup might look like this:

1. Key lights: These are going to be your main light source, and will be responsible for what is perceived as just "lights". Basically what you have currently.