Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

[WIP] Request for feedback on my bachelor project

Hey there!

I am Melina, and I am currently studying at SAE Institute Germany. At the moment, I am working on my bachelor project in the field of creature art. My creature contains elements such as being a survivor of a long term snow and ice storm. More information will follow in the bullet point list. For the implementation I will use Unreal Engine 5, Substance Painter/Designer, 3DsMax, Maya, Photoshop and ZBrush.

• Semi-Realistic Style
  • creature is in relation with a Wendigo
  • creation of fur via XGen in Maya
  • will include a diorama turntable

First of all, I decided to adapt my creature to the environment of my fellow student in order to learn how to adapt a creature to an environment. First of all, I would like to briefly discuss the environment. It is a rocky ice landscape, but on the other side it is a tundra/taiga. The story is about a world that has been hit by an ice age and there are certain shards in the form of various elements that can be used to make warming suits but also to drive machines. As already mentioned in the mail, my creature is a Wendigo. This is said to have both human and monster-like traits. The mask itself is based on a fox skeleton. Due to the icy environment, it has adapted its body temperature to the environment and has been able to live on undead, so to speak, thanks to the crystals. In the end, the creature should stand on a diorama and possibly be implemented in the scene with a few animations, which is why I model it in A-Pose. Here you can see the environment: