Home General Discussion

How do you make a good pre-production for a 3D environment personal project?

polycounter lvl 4
Offline / Send Message
Pinned
alegaroficial polycounter lvl 4
Hi, everyone!
While I was searching for references for my new spare time 3D environment project, a question arose. As an artist, I value thorough preparation before diving into the creative process. It has been some time since I last worked on a personal 3D project (around a year), and I want to start fresh. So, my question for you is:

How do you specifically approach the pre-production phase for 3D environments?

I'm not talking about what everyone already knows (concept art, real refs, exhaustive textures/materials/lighting refs, tutorials, etc.), but more in terms of organization. For example, creating lists of the tasks to be done, categorizing those tasks, establishing estimated times to understand the project's duration, what methods are going to be used with notes on how to use them, and more. 

The way I vision this is by having:

> A Word document/Notion pages with detailed information about the things I want to do, goals, and links to web pages (videos, tutorials, or research sites) that help me keep all the information in one place.

> A Pureref file with the references I need for the project.

> A calendar to measure the progress and understand its scope of it. In this particular case, I won't be too strict since I don't want to set a deadline. Nevertheless, it's important to have it to know the time I spend on each part.

I would love to know those secrets, tricks, programs, and methods that you usually use to prepare well and avoid getting overwhelmed in the process or "pausing" projects because you lose motivation.

Any help is welcome, and I'm excited to read your responses.
Thank you very much, and have a great day!

Replies

• Alex_J
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Alex_J grand marshal polycounter