Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

[WIP] Hellboy Fan Art Critique

Fraktayne
polycounter lvl 5
Offline / Send Message
Fraktayne polycounter lvl 5
Hello, so I have started making a fan art for Hellboy to learn how to capture the "look" of a character since its important if I want to join the industry. But now I'm stuck, I'm not sure how to progress or figure out what is wrong  or missing and I would like to ask for some feedback to help me finally complete the project since I've been doing it for about 2 months now.

My theme is a medieval Hellboy, I haven't detailed the body much yet.
I have no idea what to put below his right foot since the angle is weird. 

Here I also have no Idea how to merge the fingers to the rest of the body without it looking mutated.

Update:

I took a few days of working on this to maybe refresh my eyes and here are a few updates on this.

At the moment I still have no idea how to fix my fingers issue, trying to figure out how to hide it somehow atm.

Replies

• Fabi_G
    Options
    Online / Send Message
    Fabi_G insane polycounter
    Hi! I think the pose currently looks too stiff and lacks narrative (what's happening here?). Maybe take a step back from the highpoly, and blockout/ sketch different poses with focus on expression and narrative, look at miniatures and statues for inspiration. Could act out different pose yourself, see how it feels and looks. Good luck!
  • Fraktayne
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Fabi_G said:
    Hi! I think the pose currently looks too stiff and lacks narrative (what's happening here?). Maybe take a step back from the highpoly, and blockout/ sketch different poses with focus on expression and narrative, look at miniatures and statues for inspiration. Could act out different pose yourself, see how it feels and looks. Good luck!
    Hi, thanks but can you explain what narrative is, I googled it and it says art that tells a story. Do you have examples? I dont understand.
  • Fabi_G
    Options