Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

[WIP] Anthro Tiger + Fantasy Armor (feedback welcome)

Hello, I'm new to polycount and I hope I'm using the site correctly.

I'm currently working on an anthropomorphic tiger with overly detailed armor.
The character is my own and the armor is by the artist Woong Seok Kim

Armor Reference (https://www.artstation.com/artwork/RYKWDr)

My goal is to create a game ready character that I can put in my portfolio with a good presentation.

For the armor I made some small changes to the belt from the concept. The high poly mesh was made through conventional modeling and looked like this:

For the low poly version, I reduced the amount of subdivisions, but it still had 203,539 Tris & 108,953 Vertexs.

As this is a portfolio project, do you believe that the polycount needs to be reduced further, or is that fine?
I've also baked the low poly textures on Marmoset

For the tiger, I made two versions, one containing hair and one without.

I would like to know what I could improve on it and advice when setting up the post on artstation. I've never gotten a job in the 3D creation field, I'm looking into it and would like advice if possible.

Thanks for taking the time to read this and checking him out!

Replies

• HarlequinWerewolf
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    HarlequinWerewolf polycounter
    First off, that armour looks awesome! But the tiger looks very cartoony in comparison and the two pieces just don't match. I would either pick a more stylised concept for the armour or go for a more realistic tiger head - with tiger like teeth - instead. I would find some references of anthro tigers and real tigers and pick the best bits from both to make your own. 

I'm also curious about how you're texturing this. Right now, it looks like you just have basic materials applied. You could lower your poly count and bake down your high poly to create a nice normal map and then get some cool grungey textures on the low poly. 
  • Fofuxo
    Options