Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

3D Environment Artist - Portfolio critique

Hey guys! I hope this is the right channel for this.
I'd love to get some feedback on my portfolio, if there's anyone nice enough to take a few minutes out of their time :)
I'm switching projects at the moment and I'd like to hear some input on how my work looks like to an objective eye.

Personally I'm conflicted between two ways of thinking. On one hand I believe my portfolio doesn't showcase everything I can do in the perfect way. As in, I don't have many breakdowns in my portfolio showing exactly what I've done for the project and how.
I also have skills that perhaps some people won't even know because it is not clearly stated in there. For instance I'm also a mid Houdini artist, mainly developing custom procedural tools for environment art and level designers. At my last work place I developed an entire procedural forest generator for an open-world game, but if I didn't tell you that you would have no indication of it from my portfolio.

On the other hand, I also believe it should be pretty clear what I can do even without all the breakdown stuff - everything you see in there I can do, it's pretty straight forward. As in, do you like what you see and you'd want your video game to look similar to those graphics? Then it means I can do it.

I've worked on a lot of projects throughout the years, but most of them were not really things I'd feel be impressive for a portfolio place., hence why I choose to have more personal projects than commercial ones.
I always chose to work in the small start-up companies instead of the big video game companies (Ubisoft, EA, etc) because I don't enjoy the corporate work-place these later companies offer.

Portfolio

Replies

• nexussim
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    nexussim polygon