Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

30-Day Skull Sculpting [HELP!]

Bozurk
polycounter lvl 3
Offline / Send Message
Pinned
Bozurk polycounter lvl 3

Hello, I almost never post in Polycount but I have decided to give it a shot! I'm a hardsurface artist who has been doing 3D for a little over 3 years now using Blender and Maya, but recently, I'm slowly shifting towards character art and have started with the fundamentals of sculpting a human skull for understanding the structure of the human face. Whether it's a male or female. However, It already has been 21 days now and I have not improved the way I thought I would, and I'm reading books, and replaying anatomy video courses over and over and tutorials on YouTube, I even know the bones' names and what they are supposed to look like, but, unfortunately, it seems like my sculpting skills are not yet on par. I'm using a Huion Kamvas Pro 20" (2019) Pen Display when sculpting in Zbrush. I want some tips and tricks what should I do or Improve in terms of my sculpting skills? I'm using a lot of skull reference and a 3D Scan for reference as well but I still find it hard to form the shape It's one thing observing and knowing from the reference but It's a whole other thing actually sitting down and sculpting it in Zbrush. What kind of skills do I lack? I'm going to post my results which I have recorded inside Zbrush and uploaded in Streamable.

Day 3

Day 17

Day 21: (As of today, the date of this post)

Replies

• BradMyers82
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    BradMyers82 interpolator