Home Career & Education

Lost and stuck (Character artist career advice)

Offline / Send Message
Pinned

Hi everyone,

First and foremost, let me apologize in advance, as english is not my first language and I'm most likely to make spelling mistakes.

I will make it brief, I've allways been an artist with an interest for characters, some years ago I discovered the wonders of 3D art. 4 years went since that moment, and in those 4 years I have been learning as a self-taught character artist. In that time I also had to take care of a close family member with an illnes, I couldn't look for my next academic step, or professional opportunities (I couldn't due to my situation, plus I was too frustrated too), so I focused on making characters as it was deeply therapeutic and fulfilling for me.

About the skills that I have learned, I'm experienced with sculpting in Zbrush, and familiarized (still learning) with all realted to retopology (in maya and blender) and others (Marvelous designer, Substance Painter, Photoshop). Here is my current portfolio so you can see for yourself: https://www.artstation.com/xaco

I have never been replied to in any of the jobs I have applied for, I had a wide variety of advices over the years, going from ''You should throw yourself at any job opportunities rather than perfect your current skills, as from inside a studio you will grow and learn more than otherwise'' to ''You should take time and get down to a science everything regarding creating a character and the adjacent aspects''. That's why I'm trying to reach out for advice from more experienced individuals in here.

If you were me, a 24 year old individual with an urgency to start to piece his life together and the aspiration to work as a character artist, what would you do?

If you took the time to read my situation, I appreciate it.

Replies

• Eric Chadwick
    Options
    Offline / Send Message

Hi there and welcome to Polycount!