Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

First Actual Project: Stuck on how to continue.

Well like the title says I'm trying to finish my first actual piece. I spent the last four years in college kind of drifting until I finally settled on the Game Industry and specifically art as what I want to do. So to that end I'm trying to start up a portfolio of work. However, I always seem to get halfway through a project and abandon it, so this is going to be my first "I'm not abandoning this one" project that is going to go into my portfolio. Attached is a WIP Render, I'm going to try and do a 90s anime style alleyway, I've got the basic colors down as well as the outline and I'm just I don't know kind of stuck, not sure where to go from here. Like I said I've never actually taken any art classes or done any professional work, everything I've put into this is self taught. The black wall at the end of the alley I was planning to replace with a static image, maybe another building I'm not overly decided on that. As for lighting and making it look more like a 90s anime, that I have no idea where to start.

Any advice or recommendations, anything at all is welcome. I'm just not sure where to go from here so I could really use some help. Oh and I am using Blender, if that helps at all in terms of advice.

Replies

• Fabi_G
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Fabi_G insane polycounter

Hi! Do you use references (scene composition, style)? I recommend including them into the thread so it gets more clear what the goal is. Since you wrote the goal is game industry, I would try to render within a game engine, if you don't already.

Did you do some some brief pre-planing/research before? I believe this and taking a step back now end then to reflect during the process can help to not get lost (still working towards goal? Problems that came up? Can they be solved or does the project need to be re-scoped? Can make overpaints to explore).