Home Career & Education

Why are my applications for jobs being rejected?

So I graduated last year in late August from my masters degree, feeling pipped up and confident based on my achievements I went ahead and looking forward to embark on an adventurous career path. I created my CV, tried to ensure my portfolio looked as best as it could (at least according to my abilities) and sent a few applications for some positions. Only, sadly to have a large scale amount rejected even for junior positions and quite frankly I'm feeling burned out and exhausted as well as extremely frustrated. So I find myself in a dark corner if you will and I need advice or some critique and input the best steps moving forward. Is my portfolio an issue ? Is my CV layout the problem ? Lack of experience? I'm not sure what the problem is, I do often find flaws in my work even if it's already looking rather polished but I guess we all suffer from some form of perfectionism. Any in put would be greatly appreciated as I'm keen and eager to land my first position as I've been grafting and working tirelessly for some time now. https://david123.artstation.com/

Replies

• rollin
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    rollin polycounter

This is totally normal I would say.

Getting a job as artist in this business is about location, lots of luck and then skill.

Location is something you have to ask yourself. Are you close to many job opportunities? They will probably rather take the junior from the university next door where they know the prof then the applicant one from the other side of the country or even another country.

And to push the luck only endurance and patience helps.

Seems you have some skills going so keep that one up for sure!

• Fabi_G
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Fabi_G insane polycounter