Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

[HELP] Please help me complete a scene (sculpting/texturing/lighting assets)

polycounter lvl 3
Offline / Send Message
lucardo polycounter lvl 3

Hello everybody. I am working on a scene based on the image below, from Alexandre Dibone (https://www.instagram.com/alexandrediboine/)

Right now I have finished blocking the entire scene, and have a couple of textures in place, for some of the wood parts, and the walls:

I'm not really sure on how to tackle my next steps, since I'm a novice.

I know I need to now UV all the props.

What I don't know is:

1 - Should I change any of my assets, add bevels, change topology, etc? (I can provide better views of the models)

2 - Should I bring each asset to Zbrush and scuplt them? Give most/all a pass of subdivisions and use that as the high poly? Or should I decide only a couple to give this treatment? (scuplting, subdivisions etc.)

3 - If I decide to sculpt only a few assets, and then want to bake the normals, on substance painter, will I have problems if only a couple of the assets have a high poly version and the others are low poly only? ( because I would export everything into a single FBX file, in order to texture all the props in one atlas. Sorry if my wording is confusing. Let me know and I'll try to explain my question better).

4 - I don't know how to properly light a scene, so help here would be apreciated too. I want to emulate the lighting as it is in the drawing from Alexandre.

Thank you for the help!

Replies

• lucardo
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    lucardo polycounter lvl 3

So, I decided to start smoothing some of the assets, that I think wont need scuplting. Used a simple subdivision modifier and then smooth modifiers with shade smooth. I plan to bake this into the low polies.

What do you think of this approach?

• Fabi_G
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Fabi_G insane polycounter