Home Career & Education

3D/VFX Student confused about career choices: should I focus on 2D or 3D if I want creative freedom?

Hi all,

I'll try my absolute best to keep this short,

• I'm a generalist 3D art / 3D animation / VFX student who is worried about losing conceptual creative freedom in the video game industry - or film industry as I'm Australian and the video game industry is small here, if I continue with those career options.
  • I also don't mean to sound entitled in any way, I'm totally okay with working off other people's concepts for years as long as it isn't for my entire career.
  • I've been doing 3D related art for a couple years now and it's definitely my most confident artistic skill - I'm not too bad at drawing/painting but not incredible.
  • My degree is a bit broad, offering classes in 2D animation, environment design, character design, 3D animation, modelling, sculpting, texturing / VFX / motion design, but the main focus is on 3D animation / VFX.
  • I'm really interested in potentially becoming a concept artist, but it seems daunting to improve my 2D skills to an employable level - when I could just become a 3D artist / VFX artist and have a better chance right away.
  • My main interest is really in the design, conceptualisation, and creation of visual ideas in video games (or films) and then bringing them to 3D form.
  • I enjoy the 3D medium maybe slightly more than 2D at the moment, but not by that much, and I'm sure that's just due to the fact I've spent more time on 3D. I'm sure I'll enjoy them both equally if I continue practicing 2D - and I've read/heard that concept artists do a lot of 3D anyway.

I guess I have two main questions:

• Should I direct my efforts to 3D art / VFX or 2D concept art? Or a mixture of both?
  • Would it be a better idea for me to change my degree to something more focused on conceptualisation rather than 3D animation/VFX?

Thanks so much for taking the time to read this if you did.

Replies