Home Marmoset

Insanely frustrating baking issues with height in marmoset

This is probably going to be the last place I post this as I'm absolutely ready to just give up and get rid of Marmoset.

I'm brand new to the software but there is absolutely no proper straightforward answer I can find for my issue.

Whenever I try to bake the height map of my sculpt in marmoset it will generate a regular height map but with an outline of the low poly wireframe stuck on it.

It's more subtle in this image but you can still see it.

But this keeps causing huge issues when I actually try to displace the mesh and I can't find any fix for this.

I can't even find a single actual guide that specifically covers height map baking in Marmoset.

Please someone help me because the only responses I have been getting are "oh yeah thats supposed to be there" and to just adjust some sliders that end up fixing nothing.

I'm so desperate to fix this at this point

Replies

• poopipe
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    poopipe grand marshal polycounter

I'm not familiar with marmoset specifically but in any other software that would be the correct output for a simple height bake. it's giving you the distance between the two meshes - which is what you need when you displace it later during rendering.

Given a convex surface edges on the low poly mesh will be closer to the high poly mesh than the face they surround and you'll get dark marks at the edges

if your low poly mesh is closer in shape to the high poly you'll get less of this effect happening.

if it's causing unexpected results when displacing then you most likely have a scaling or color-space issue - I don't know enough about marmoset to offer any suggestions there but if you're using it outside of marmoset you'll want to make sure you're working with linear values and that no gamma adjustment or color space transforms have been applied to the image

• EarthQuake
    Options
    Offline / Send Message