Home Career & Education

Beginner 3D Character Artist Path

Hello, I have a few questions about where I should start if I want to become a 3D character artist. I'll give everyone some background I was 22 at the time when graduated from an Art school for Game Art & Design back in Fall 2013. The school pretty much left me high and dry after I graduated and was forced to fend for myself. I tried improving the skills I've learned by continuing to make characters. I attended different networking events in my area as well. I slowly improved but I hit a wall and didn't really have a sense of direction. Also life issues came into play and completely threw me off of my focus. In 2016 I then completely lost all motivation to continue creating and its been like that for years. I regretted "giving up" for awhile now because had I not I would've improved so much and to be honest I really missed creating. At 32 years old I've decided on giving this another go at it (giving up is not an option). I'm pretty sure a lot has changed in those years as far the 3D character pipeline and even the programs being used.

Replies

• carvuliero
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    carvuliero hero character

Just make something , simple cute cartoony even if thats not your thing You need something as a base to judge how much you suck so then you can look for path foreword other wise there are too many things to pick from. Completing few basic project will also show you the ropes and boost your motivation to push forward

• poopipe
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    poopipe grand marshal polycounter

Honestly - the only things that have changed significantly in the last decade are substance painter getting released and computers getting faster.

apart from that it's business as usual except there's more detail

• nOLpte8
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    nOLpte8 triangle