Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Looking for portfolio feedback and career advice

Hi everyone!

I'm currently a freelance character artist, but I want to take the big jump and start working as a junior character artist in the video games industry.

I'm also interested in hard-surface modeling, mostly because of robots. Sadly I missed some important hard-surface rules when working on those in my portfolio. I'll work on something new. because those are a little dated.

So, I'd like to know what you think! What I should improve, what pieces should I remove from my portfolio... any feedback is very appreciated.

Here's my portfolio: https://guder.artstation.com/

Thank you for your time.

Cheers!

Replies

• nexussim
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    nexussim polygon

I guess it depends on your goals. I really like some of your stuff, such as the robo bunny that looks super clean. By the way, if you want to really improve in that area (like robots), I highly recommend some pro topology courses such as Elementza/Arrimus, so you can get really detailed and clean. But in the end it seems you are aiming for low poly game type models. For example, your hard surface models seem to lack supporting loops. Because of this, you get far less highlights in render. But of course, if you are aiming for low poly, who cares! Either way, your models look nice and clean and the marmoset viewer is always a great touch!

Also, to me, your most recent piece doesn't jive with the rest of your work (the guy on fire).

• jgarrison
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    jgarrison polycounter lvl 5

(i'm in the same position as you, career wise, so consider this an unqualified critique)