Home Coding, Scripting, Shaders

[MAYA] How to convert Python 2 script to Python 3 [CREASE+ As an example]

polycounter lvl 9
Offline / Send Message
noizekrafft polycounter lvl 9

Maya 2023 dont work with Python 2 scripts (when you try to run them, you have syntax error, it means this is Python 2 code), but we can convert them automatically using Windows command line.

Sometimes unfortunately its not help, but if you, as i am not a coder, you can try)

1. Run Windows command line (win+R and type cmd, then Enter)
  2. Navigate to folder, when .py files are stored. (cd C:\myscripts\CreasePlus for example, to change disc, type disc letter. then : (D: for example))
  3. Type 2to3 . -w

for example

D:\Temp\CreasePlus 2to3 . -w

and hit Enter

it convert automatically all files in that folder, and create a .py.bak files (it must be original backup files), but better make a copy of that folder before conversion

Now you can copy these files to folder that is specified in the instructions of original scripts (usually \Documents\maya\2023\scripts)

I convert like this CREASE+ scripts, and they works!)

But, i have eror Error: RuntimeError: file <maya console> line 6: Plug-in, "CreasePlusNodes.py", was not found on MAYA_PLUG_IN_PATH

To fix that, i go to \Documents\maya\2023 and in file Maya.env add path to folder stores CreasePlusNodes.py file

MAYA_PLUG_IN_PATH=C:\Users\%%your user name%%\Documents\maya\2023\scripts\CreasePlus

btw, i upload in to gdrive, if you need)

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1nGwdXJyHbglh7rvyIN4Zd490KcrkpHnd/view?usp=share_link

Replies

• illusionist
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    illusionist polycounter lvl 8
    Hi, I saw many youtube videos, even I see the python files in my maya install folder (pip, 2to3...) but when I run the scripts I got always this error: '2to3' is not recognized as an internal or external command, operable program or batch file.
  • poopipe
    Options
    Offline / Send Message