Homeβ€Ί Career & Education

Question regarding portfolio and getting into game dev

Hello everyone!

Some background about me. I'm a partially self-taught 3D Artist who specializes in Props and Environments. I followed a few different study programs related to video game development but I dropped out of each of them because I wasn't really interested in studying and pursuing a degree. After failing to pursue a degree, I decided to strictly build my portfolio and basically learn to become a self-taught 3D Artist.

My biggest concern and fear is whether can I get any kind of job as a 3D Artist with no experience in internships or degree? Apart from that, I worked as a photo editor for magazines and advertisements a long time ago. All I want is brutal and honest feedback about my portfolio and of course some advice.

Here's my ArtStation: artstation.com/beblin07

And here's my latest project:

Replies

• Benjammin
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Benjammin greentooth

You need more stuff. Your portfolio tells me you can model/texture hard surface assets at a basic level, but grungy hard surface stuff is the easiest thing to do with modern tools. The fire extinguisher doesn't tell me anything about your skills that your big scene doesn't - Its still grungy hard surface πŸ˜‰.

I recommend reordering your images in that big scene, too: The renders are fine, but you want your breakdown images (ie: demonstrating your actual 3d skills) to be seen sooner - a busy art director might well close that tab before scrolling halfway down, and most of them don't tell me anything about your relevant skills.

Try your hand at some more complex props, ideally something very different.

• poopipe
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    poopipe grand marshal polycounter