Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Portfolio Critique/Review

Offline / Send Message
Pinned

Hello there. I am new here and I've been told this place is good for getting reviews/critiques for my portfolio.

My background:

I am a 3D artist that is somewhat a generalist at the moment but I wanna go for a prop/environment artist in the future. I am a junior. I have no professional experience but I did a Master Degree in 3D art using Maya. After that I've been doing some courses here and there as well as doing some other things on my own with Blender

I've got a few offers as well as some other interviews but usually end up hiring the people that has experience over the new guy that just want to join in.

I've heard my portfolio is not good enough and others mentioned that was decent for a guy that "just started". I am focusing on hard surface and environment so I can keep going further on what I like. What do you guys think? You can be brutally honest if you want, wont mind a harsh one since is what I wanna do in the future.

I don't mind ending up in a studio for movies/animation or videogames so I don't know if those 2 would vary a lot between each other.

https://www.artstation.com/calzimer

Replies

• Lukes3D
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Lukes3D triangle

Looking at a your portfolio from a eagles view, it does look novice to mid level. It's been advised to remove things from your portfolio that does not meet industry standard, if not, then improve it until it meets that quality.

I would change the thumbnail of the drone to the 2nd picture.

My eyes glossed over the procedural and lava textures. I think its best the remove them, since people have to read how it was made in order to really appreciate it. I think people just want to see amazing renders in a portfolio rather than technical details.

The shoe is a little lackluster. You should display it like how products are photographed like this shorturl.at/uMS58