Home Technical Talk

[Help] Best approach to texturing a game asset (stylized house) [SOLVED]

polycounter lvl 3
Offline / Send Message
lucardo polycounter lvl 3

Hello everybody,

I made the concept below for a stylized house, that I want to model and have it optimized for videogames. I want to create a scene in Unreal Engine. (I'm a complete novice at this btw, so I apologize if my questions doesn't make much sense)

I'm trying to plan ahead of time, how am I going to handle the texturing, and materials.

Edit: I want to make the textures with substance painter. I don't want to hand paint the textures.

Should I make some kind of trim sheet, to be used by the wood, metal (is the base of the wood columns), roof and stone parts?

Then a tileable texture for the plaster and the ground/grass?

Should the roof be one tileable texture?

Should I uniquely unrwarp and texture the whole model?

Please let me know how would you tackle this model, as if it were done to a real game.

Thank you!

Replies

• Eric Chadwick
    Options
    Offline / Send Message

I would suggest checking out a tutorial like Shubham Kumar's house and adapting the process to work with your concept art.

http://wiki.polycount.com/wiki/Modular_environments

• lucardo
    Options
    Offline / Send Message

Hi @Eric Chadwick , Thank you for your suggestion. I read the whole article (but I'll need to read it a couple more times haha). I'll try to adapt it for sure.

I finished the low poly modeling of the house. I know it is not relevant anymore, but in case someone is curious:

• Eric Chadwick
    Options
    Offline / Send Message

Keep going, this is looking great!

A couple more relevant resources from the wiki:

Modular Mount & Blade

Pirate castle (UDK)

• lucardo
    Options
    Offline / Send Message