Home Technical Talk

Bounce light/Ambient light

Ruz
polycount lvl 666
Offline / Send Message
Ruz polycount lvl 666

This is kind of bugging me . So if you have a scene with a sunlight with strong shadows, you get quite harsh dark shadow. If I add a HDR as an ambient source, then I get lighter shadows and the scene look quite nice

So why do i need to have bounce lighting on top of that

In Blender for example if I turn off bounce lighting completely and keep the HDR, the difference is minimal

the only reason i have it on it seems is so that I can control the reflection and transparency/transmission samples

i guess the difference in more noticeable in a scene with a simple cube and plane, bit in a complex outdooor scene, the amount of bounces seems not to matter as much, the ambient source seems to cotrol the scene more

I am not a rendering expert, but would welcome any advice

I have some nice results, but am just interested in it from a technical standpoint

Replies

• Ruz
    Offline / Send Message
    Ruz polycount lvl 666

so yeah it seems that Diffuse indirect is not making that much difference to my scenes if if I turn it up to 1024

the scene seems easier to control with Fast GI Approximation fi i am Honest, but the docs say that this is for less high quality renders

Seems a bit easier in Vray , I think they have a GI multipler box or similar

This is my scene using fast GI approximation

scene with NO ambient lght 1 sunlught and imax bounces bumped up to max ( 1024)

if I clamp the direct light and increase the Sunlight to 50 strength for example I do get some bounce from the grass etc, but it looks kind of weird as it blows out the direct light

• Ruz
    Offline / Send Message
    Ruz polycount lvl 666

This is 1 sunlight+HDR with no bounce samples at all, so its direct light only. The only difference is on the glossy where it doesn't reflect the grass and trees

• Ruz
    Offline / Send Message
    Ruz polycount lvl 666