Home Career & Education

How long it takes to get a decent job?

I know, I know. Kind of a stupid thing to ask, especially at my level. Just hear me out

Hello everyone,

I'm currently studying 3D and I want to get into the job eventually. Thing is - I already work in low level QA management in GameDev and I'm 24. What's concerning me is the hit that I'll take in terms of income and the time that will be needed to get to decent level (mostly also income-wise). If someone can help me with some guidance, I would highly appreciate that

What seems like a milestone that I'd be able to breathe out at is Middle position. And I currently struggle to understand what would define a Middle 3D artist and what it takes to get there

I currently have close to 3 years of experience in the industry. I'm no stranger to learning technical skills by myself and at a decent rate, presenting myself and working with people. I got a lot of things covered, aside from the actual art)

I've been studying for the past 6 months. For reference, I will include one of the works I did around 2 months ago

I know most of it will sound silly to more experienced people here, but lately a lot of anxiety started creeping in. I just want to get an understanding of what I would be dealing with. And maybe that's something that people on this forum can help me with

Huge thanks to anyone who decides to spare a bit of their time to help me out on this one

Cheers!

Replies

• rollin
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    rollin polycounter

Imo if you want to get some decent money for your time the 3d industry is not the best place.

So if this is your primary concern I would at least check out other areas.

You earn the most money in areas where the most money is made.

If you want to continue the artist road it totally depends on your location and the size and "money-throughput" of the company.

• Arsenii
    Options
    Offline / Send Message