Home Technical Talk

Retopology and baking help (Blender, ZBrush)

polycounter lvl 4
Offline / Send Message
LadyPoro polycounter lvl 4

I'm fairly new to doing retopology so I'm not sure if the way I'm going about it is right. I would usually bake the normal map in ZBrush, using the low subdivision model as the low poly.

I created the high poly rock sculpt in ZBrush, then took it into Blender to create the retopology using planes and a shrink wrap modifier.

But I don't know how to get the normal map to use in Substance, since they are two different meshes and won't unwrap the same.

Am I going about it the wrong way, or is there something I should be doing that I'm not?

Thanks in advance - I can add pictures if needed but I'm unsure what you'd need to see

Replies

• killnpc
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    killnpc polycounter

you are able to bake your normal maps in Substance Painter.

you are also able to import a texture and assign it to a material's texture types within Substance.

tangent space normal maps have two basic formats OpenGL and DirectX.

i think if you find yourself struggling to communicate your problem, or are uncertain of what you should provide to others to troubleshoot it, this might be a signal that you're just a little out of your depth and should familiarize yourself with the process and its terminology. i think you'll find you may not need anyone's help after that.

• kanga
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    kanga quad damage

You can bake normal maps in Substance maybe a lot better than in zBrush. killnpc above has given you a number of search terms to google which should help loads. Also lots of Substance painter tutes on the web. Welcome to the wonderful world of polygonal cookery!

• Tejvir
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Tejvir polycounter lvl 5

How can I solve this issue in rendering in blender Cycles?

• kanga
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    kanga quad damage