Home Digital Sketchbooks

Sketchbook: Sundae Bell

Offline / Send Message
Pinned

Hello! I'm Sundae. I want to become a 3D character artist.

I have some self-taught 2D drawing experience but I'm fresh to 3D and excited to learn.

I will post my 3D art, concepts, & references here to catalog my lessons learned.

All critique is welcome! I'm new to everything :p

Replies

• SundaeBell
    Options
    Offline / Send Message

[Graxus the Monk]

My first project is attempting to make a "game-ready" character.

The character is a male, half-orc monk. He's one of my friend's D&D characters. I think he's pretty neat.

This is a pretty big project for my first go, but I'm hoping I mess up a ton of stuff and learn how to fix some things in the process. I'm giving myself 5 weeks to complete it. Each day working 3ish hours (I don't wanna burn out my eyes) Complete meaning I have a rigged and textured character. I mean I gotta finish it some time and I guess that's a goal. I'm using 2 online courses to learn the pipeline and workflow of 3D character creation:

Course 1: Crimson Ronin - PBR Character Creation by P2Design

-is pretty fast-paced but shows in depth the process of how to make a low poly 3D game character (I'm learning a lot from it)

Course 2: Complete Guide to Realistic Character Creation in Blender by Corazon Bryant

-is pretty slow but Mrs. Corazon skips no details in her workflow. Her course is more focused on 3D character creation for films (but it's very useful!)

The main program I'm using for modeling is Blender (because I'm cheap) but it seems nice (and complicated..). There's a lot I don't get about Blender but I'm figuring it out slowly. An artist I admire provided me with a copy of 'Anatomy for Sculptors' and I bought 'Anatomy for 3D Artists,' both of these books have been phenomenal in helping me self-study anatomy for my model.

Progress so far [ 1 week has now passed since I started this guy ] :