Home Career & Education

Question: How far can I get with Blender?

Hi everyone! I'm new here and I'm an aspiring 3D environment artist. I started off in 3D modeling through Blender, and I wanted to know how far I can go with that versus having to take the time and money to learn Maya and 3DS Max.

I'm a student, which means I get Maya for free, but not 3DS Max. How much of a difference is it if I stick with Blender, or should I backtrack to learn Maya? (or even pay for 3DS Max?)

Replies

• Joopson
    Options
    Online / Send Message
    Joopson quad damage

Blender will get you there just fine; at a future job, you could be stuck using a different tool to fit into their workflows (i.e. Max or Maya, probably), but everything you learn in Blender will apply in principle, so it'll just be about learning UI and idiosyncrasies between the programs at that point.

But if you're worried about Blender not being as capable— it definitely is capable enough to make professional quality work with, no doubt. And just as easily as with the more expensive programs.

• Tiles
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Tiles greentooth