Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Procedural "Nuragic" house generator in Houdini

polycounter lvl 2
Offline / Send Message
Pinned
Nirvis polycounter lvl 2

Hi! My name is Marc Vives Dalmau, I'm a 3D environment artist and I wanted to share how I made a procedural house generator inside Houdini, in case it may be useful for somebody. I've been integrating this software to my workflow since summer 2021 and I'm very happy with the results. Hope you like it :)

• 1. References and context

This project was made for the videogame Oden, which is in early developement state and in collaboration with the team of Rattingham Studios, an indie studio based in Italy. All concepts for this houses were provided by the team and specially by the concept artist Ludovico Brisotto.

The purpose of these houses are to fill the environment but the players won't have access to the interior of them.

Concept by Ludovico Brisotto.

• 2. Architectural props modelling (Blender)

To build this houses I needed to model some architectural props inside Blender, prepare the UV atlas for them and then export to be used in Houdini as instances.

Architectural prop atlas A (2048x2048).

Architectural prop atlas B (2048x2048).

Architectural prop atlas C (2048x2048).

Some of these props won't be used in the procedural house generator, since are props for the interior of the houses and won't be necessary, but I included them because they will be used in some particular buildings which the players will have access to and are more specific, but won't be covered in this thread.

• 3. Logic and build process in Houdini

To start I created 3 different tower heights with its UV.

Then, starting from a random height tower, I do a for each loop with feedback, adding in each cycle a tower of 1 height lower than the original one. I do this iteration "n" times, which is driven by a random seed for each house.