Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Portfolio review

polycounter lvl 7
Offline / Send Message
Darkstein polycounter lvl 7

Hello Everyone first of all thank you for the time, i need some advice and guidance with my portfolio, any feedback is most welcome i have worked as a freelance on some indie projects but i want to give the "big jump" to a AAA studio.

Here is my portfolio, my focus is on props i have some experience on Environments but not enough to show on the portoflio.

https://www.artstation.com/smokebane

Replies

• Lukes3D
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Lukes3D triangle

Whenever portfolio's showcase very small, simple items on their own, it seems kind of weak IMO. If they are small and simple maybe put them together in one image.

For the window, I didn't know there were more objects included until clicking on it. You might want to show all of the items in the thumbnail. It will make the thumbnail more dense too.

I think using white backgrounds look a little better. Whenever I see grey/dark background my mind first thinks that's it a viewport snapshot from the software, without any lighting or rendering.

The Murmillo helmet looks well modeled, but the lighting is not giving it justice. Put it in a white background with a shadow underneath.

The props for soap piece has hidden objects as well. Include everything in the thumbnail, or use the closeup shot of the soap/poison piece since it has some nice detail.

The hoverbike, headset, and gas mask are the strongest pieces. Maybe put them in the middle of the page instead of the far left.

Just some of my thoughts! Nice work though.

• Darkstein
    Options
    Offline / Send Message

Hello Lukes3D thank you for the time and feedback. i can see what you mean with the small and simple, i think i focused to much on the textures and learning it that i neglect my modeling a bit.

for the thumbnails i will follow your advice and make a thumbnail to show all of the props to show that are more assets.