Home General Discussion

[2D Art] When do you know it's time to, you know, give up?

Hello, let me introduce myself briefly.

I have always liked digital art and had a graphic tablet and drawing programs since I was in my teens. I couldn't afford art school, so I ended up doing coding in uni. I also did an year in an Academy of Fine Arts after that, and then I quit to move to London, and have been working as a digital designer for 3 years. I'm now 28.

I've never given up on the dream of being a 2D Game Artist, but it's hard to keep it up and stay motivated when you've got a full time job etc. Progress is so slow when you're self taught, and even though I have some money going now, I wouldn't be able to quit it all and go to uni for 3 years.

No matter how much effort I put in, it always feels like that I've got so much to catch up with, and that I'm always starting from square one. I compare my work to portfolios of people fresh out of art school, and it makes me feel quite hopeless.

When do you know it's time to, you know, give up?

I'm unhappy in my current job, and the idea of giving up this dream feels unbearable. At the same time, though, digital art has given me nothing but anxiety, frustration, self-hate, and some sort of sense of "guilt" as soon as I'm enjoying life instead of practicing. And this too has become unbearable.

Replies

• Brian "Panda" Choi
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Brian "Panda" Choi high dynamic range

Where's your portfolio?

• kanga
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    kanga quad damage

The fact that you hate your job would suggest you need to take control of your life. Since coding is what you chose to feed yourself I would concentrate on fixing that first. Look around for jobs while you are working. Do it quietly is best.

• hidronax
    Options
    Offline / Send Message