Home Technical Talk

A Question about 3D Models and Normal Maps

polycounter lvl 2
Offline / Send Message
LDKSuperDante polycounter lvl 2

I did a little research on this, but most answers were on forums from some time ago, so I thought it might be helpful to ask here. Is it possible to reverse engineer a high poly model from a normal map? It'd be great if I or someone else could re-create a pre-existing high poly model to bake better normal maps with.

The reason I ask is because I have a game I'm remastering, but besides wanting to remain as faithful to the original design as possible, model editing isn't yet possible so I can't make new models or UV's for the game yet, so I'm currently limited to texture improvements. I also don't have any experience with 3D modeling or baking yet. My experience is mostly with GIMP. I commissioned a high poly piece of armor recently, and it made a great normal map, but long story short it was misaligned with the game's low poly, so a person helping me wasn't able to use substance painter to make the diffuse and specular maps for it.

Thanks in advance for anyone with any info!

Replies

• pior
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    pior grand marshal polycounter

Convert the normalmap to a curvature map using any tool you have access to (either using a Photoshop script, of something like good old Xnormal and Crazybump, or anything else really) and apply that as a displacement map to a subdvided copy of the low.

It's a very dirty hack but it can work surpisingly well.

• LDKSuperDante
    Options
    Offline / Send Message

Thank you! I'll see what I can do. Is there anything else I should know?

• LDKSuperDante
    Options
    Offline / Send Message