Home Technical Talk

Eight questions from a newbie graphic designer on creating 3d models for computer games

Hello. I address the following questions with a view to a computer game for the PC (RPG from isometric projection). This should help you a little bit with answering my questions.

1. Can one model penetrate with its topology through another model or should I combine them into one? What are the advantages of both solutions? Pictures to help interpret this question: https://imgur.com/a/xAsSOkH
  2. I have come across information that most of today's low poly model games use bevels with one segment to help baking. Is it true?
  3. Does doing bake in marmoset below 4k make sense? I got the impression that there is a big difference between 2k and 4k bakes and it doesn't look good qualitatively. I'd like to add that I just started learning marmoset baking so maybe I'm just doing something wrong. I have had to remodel my models so many times for incorrect baking, do you have any hints for that?
  4. If I do bake in marmoset and I intend to texturing in substance painter, is the only thing I need to import into substance painter is normal map?
  5. How can I best determine if I have overdone the number of polygons of my model? ? When I notice that the optimization of my game is not very good, should I start with optimizing my models or have a predetermined limit, e.g. for the location of 100,000 polygons?
  6. Should every model have its' own texture? If I remember correctly I read somewhere that one texture can be used multiple times, should I avoid painting manualy texturing then? My hand-painted elements will pass to other models in completely different places, Am I right?